The Golfers Club KZN Senior Spring Open 2018

Posted by Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, 04 September 2018 in Senior News

IMG 3608 360x269

Basil Naidoo wins KZN Senior Spring Open Championships

Two unusually fine days with very light winds made for a great tournament at Durban Country Club over Sunday 2nd and Monday 3rd September 2018. The Tournament Director set up the course on both days with an interesting course layout with different tees being brought forward on each day to tempt the longer hitters into considering "risk and reward" options versus safe play. The total course meterage was kept the same however over the two days of play.

Two level par rounds were posted after day one by Ian Smith (Houghton) and Leonard Pienaar (Glendower) with five others (Basil Naidoo, Morgan Phillips, Johan Marais, Richard Nel and Guy O'Connor) on one over par 73 gross.

But it was a steady performance by Basil Naidoo (Greater Durban) with a second 73 gross on day two that saw him edge out Morgan Phillips (Maritzburg Golf Club) by one shot to take first place with a total gross score of 146.

IMG 3604 360x305

Morgan Phillips, second place on 147 gross.

Third place went to Ian Smith (Houghton) on 149 and fourth was Johan Marais (Fancourt) also on 149 on a count out.

IMG 3603 360x262

Ian Smith (Houghton) Third on 149.

IMG 3601 360x256

Johan Marais (Fancourt) Fourth on 149.

The Best Nett prize in the A Division went to Ramon Rahme (Glendower) with a nett score of 141 playing off a 6 handicapp.

The A Division Super Senior winner was Stephen Cullen (MECC) with a gross score of 150.

IMG 3599 360x310

Steve Cullen, A Division Super Senior winner with a gross of 150.

In the B Division (an individual stableford event), Dave Fisher (DCC) birdied the final hole to take first place from Pradeep Ramowtar (Central Durban) by one stableford point. Dave had rounds of 36 and 39 = 75 points while Pradeep had 36 and 38 = 74 stableford points.

IMG 3598 360x247

Dave Fisher, B Division winner.

IMG 3597 281x360

Pradeep Ramowtar, runner up B Division.

Third place in the B Division went to Desmond Johnson (State Mines) with 37 and 32 = 69 points and fourth was Roy Singh (Greater Durban) with 34 and 35 = 69 points o.c.o.

IMG 3595 360x230

Desmond Johnson, Third place.

The B Division Super Senior winner was Piet Strydom (MECC) with 36 and 34 = 70 stableford points.

IMG 3594 360x284

Piet Strydom, B Division Super Senior winner.

All the results from the tournament have been posted in the Featured Downloads column under the Senior News tab.

A successful tournament all round and we thank all of those players from beyond the KZN border who always make the effort to support this annual tournament. Finally, a big thank you to The Golfers Club for their generous sponsorship of this event.

image003 360x269 120x90

All photographs courtesy of Samakipics.

Social Networking


Contact Information

Back To Top ↑

Links of Sponsors of KZN Golf