Stephen Johnstone wins 2020 KZN Senior Open Championships at Umhlali CC

Posted by Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, 10 March 2020 in Senior News

IMG 5356 Stephen Johnstone and Shield

Stephen Johnstone wins 2020 KZN Senior Amateur Open Championships.


The 2020 KZN Senior Amateur Open Championships, sponsored by The Golfers Club, was hosted by Umhlali Country Club over the 8th and 9th March. A field of 78 golfers had to negotiate very different and trying conditions over the two days with a strong, gusty north easterly wind blowing on Sunday 8th and a complete reverse of wind direction from the southwest on the second day of play, Monday 9th. 

Good scores were returned in the A Division on day one with Stephen Johnstone (Ruimsig) posting the leading score of two over par, gross 73. Neil Homann (Bryanston) and Gavin van Aswegen (Eye of Africa) posted gross 74 each with Glynn Forman (DCC), Tony Bailey (De Zalze) and Richard Brooker (Royal Cape) one shot further back on 75 gross.

In relatively calmer conditions on day two, early indications were that there was going to be a close finish and a possible play-off as scores came in from the field. Eric Jarvie (Umhlali) recovered with a two over 73 gross followed by a Durban Country Club trio of Keith Forde, Steve Cullen and Kevin Curren all with 74 gross. One shot further back on 75 were a group of players - Eric Mhlongo (MECC), Morgan Phillips (Victoria), Murray Gilson (DCC), Mike Matthews (Umhlali), Phillip Grant (Zimbali) and Guy O 'Connor (Kloof).

But it was overnight leader, Stephen Johnstone who managed to hold it together with a 5 over gross 76 to add to his 73 of day one to total 149 gross and take the winner's title by one shot from Neil Homann on 150. Sweet victory for Stephen Johnstone who tied with Murray Gilson in the 2018 Senior Open Championships, held at the same venue Umhlali CC, when they both finished on 145 gross and Stephen lost to Murray in a play-off. 

The A Division prize winners were as follows:-

1. Stephen Johnstone (Ruimsig)   149 gross

2. Neil Homann (Bryanston)         150 gross

3. Mike Matthews (Umhlali)          151 gross

4. Murray Gilson (DCC)                151 gross (o.c.o.)

Best Nett went to Eric Jarvie (Umhlali) with 144 nett

Super Senior winner was Tony Bailey (De Zalze) on 152 gross counting out Gavin van Aswegen (Eye of Africa) in the process.

IMG 5352 Neil Homann

Neil Homann (second on 150) receiving his silver medal from Richard Nel.

IMG 5350 Mike Matthews

Mike Matthews (third on 151).

IMG 5348 Murray Gilson

Murray Gilson (fourth on 151).

IMG 5347 Eric Jarvey

Eric Jarvey (Winner Best Nett with 144 nett).

IMG 5346 Tony Bailey

Super Senior winner, Tony Bailey with a total of 152 gross. 

 In the B Division, Robin Singh (Maidstone 14 h'capp) posted the overnight lead with 43 individual stableford points. Herman Kriel (Prince's Grant 11 h'capp) was close behind with 39 stableford points. Lying third in a group, all with 37 points, were Cameron Mitchell (Umhlali 10 h'capp), Pradeep Ramowtar (Central Durban 13 h'capp) and Roly Muller (RDGC 15 h'capp).

On day two, some good scores were returned. Omprakash Ramlakhan (Athlone 20 h'capp) had 39 points, Pradeep Ramowtar had 35 points, Cameron Mitchell had 34 points but it was Robin Singh who had another good round and came home with 39 points to finish in first place on a total of 82 stableford points.

IMG 5344 Robin Singh

Robin Singh (Maidstone) B Division winner with a total of 82 stableford points being congratulated by Richard Nel.

The B Division prises were therefore as follows :-

1. Robin Singh (Maidstone)                  82 points.

2. Pradeep Ramowtar (Central Durban) 72 points.

3. Cameron Mitchell (Umhlali CC)         71 points.

Super Senior winner Roly Muller (RDGC) 70 points.



IMG 5343 Pradeep Ramowtar  

Pradeep Ramowtar second with 72 points.

IMG 5341 Cameron Mitchell

Cameron Mitchell third with 71 points.

IMG 5340 Roly Muller

Roly Muller Super Seniors winner with 70 points.

By all accounts a very good tournament well hosted by Umhlali Country Club. Many thanks to all those that contributed to the smooth running of this tournament as well as our sponsors, The Golfer's Club and the continued support of all those players that come from far afield to support our tournaments. 

Golfers Club Logo 360x269 120x90

(photographs courtesy of Samakipics)


Social Networking


Contact Information

Back To Top ↑

Links of Sponsors of KZN Golf