Morgan Phillips wins 2020 KZN Senior Classic

Posted by Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Saturday, 07 March 2020 in Senior News

IMG 5318 Morgan Phillips

Morgan Phillips being congratulated by Richard Nel on winning the 2020 Senior Classic.


The 2020 KZN Senior Classic was played at Durban Country Club over the 5th and 6th March in ideal (if not a little too hot) conditions. The course was in good condition with the greens hard and fast but rolling true which suited some but also had a number of players shaking their heads after three putting.

At the end of day one, Morgan Phillips (Victoria CC) held the lead with an excellent two under gross 70 followed by Mike Matthews (Umhlali) and Hennie Heynes (MECC) on two over 74 gross. Basil Naidoo (DCC) and Rajen Sewgolum (Princes Grant) were one shot further back with 75 gross.

On day two only Neil Homann (Brynston) managed to break par with a 71 gross. Henry Trevena (Royal Cape) and Basil Naidoo both returned level par rounds of 72 with Murray Gilson (DCC) making a comeback with 73. Corne Basson (Zwartkops) improved with a 74 while Morgan Phillips let it slip a bit with 77 gross.

Playing in the final group, Basil Naidoo made a crucial putt on the 18th to finish level par 72 while Morgan Phillips dropped a shot after his tee shot was bunkered on the 18th. He came out a little strong and did not get up-and-down from the back of the green resulting in a tie for first place on 147 gross with Basil Naidoo and resulting in a sudden death playoff to determine the winner.

Basil and Morgan both hit their respective tee shots a little left on the first hole. Basil ended up in the rough on the upslope of the hill on the left of the fairway while Morgan finished in the first cut in the "saddle". Basil played first and pulled his second into the swale to the left of the green while Morgan put his second safely on the green some two to three metres below the hole. Basil's chip shot hit the flag and almost went in but a solid birdie putt saw Morgan take the win on the first extra hole.

So the A Division placings were ;

1st Morgan Phillips (Victoria) 147

2nd Basil Naidoo (DCC)        147

3rd Henry Trevena (Royal Cape) 148

4th Murray Gilson (DCC) 147

The Best Nett went to Kenny Knock (RDGC) with 146 nett and the Super Senior winner was Hennie Heynes (MECC) on 149 gross less combined handicapp of 4 = 145 nett.

IMG 5314 Basil Naidoo

Basil Naidoo second placed after a sudden death playoff.

IMG 5312 Henry Trevena

Henry Trevena (Royal Cape Golf Club) third place.

IMG 5311 Kenny Knock

Kenny Knock (RDGC) winner Best Nett.

IMG 5310 Hennie Heynes

Hennie Heyns (MECC) Super Seniors winner.

In the B Division there were some good scores returned on day one with Lesley Moonsamy (Ethekwini) leading in the club house with 39 individual stableford points. Other notable scores were Neil Champion (Umfolozi) 35 points, Cedric Mngadi (Kloof CC) 34 points, Chris Coleman (Camelot) 33 points and Dave Rossler (RDGC) 32 points.

But it was Dave Rossler (RDGC) and Daan Fourie (Athlone) who made the bigest comeback on day two with 37 stableford points each followed by Lesley Moonsamy with 34 points and Chris Coleman also with 34 points.

So ultimately it was Lesley Moonsamy (Ethekwini) who managed to hold off the chasing pack to win the B Division with a total of 73 individual stableford points.

IMG 5307 Lesley Moonsamy

Lesley Moonsamy (Ethekwini) winner of the B Division being congratulated by Richard Nel.

IMG 5306 Dave Rossler

Dave Rossler (RDGC) second place.

IMG 5305 Chris Coleman

Chris Coleman (Camelot) third place.

IMG 5304 Daan Fourie

Daan Fourie (Athlone) Super Senior winner, B Division.

Many thanks to all concerned for contributing to running an excellent tournament as well as our sponsor for their continued support. Many thanks to all the out of town visitors who regularly make the journey to support our 36 hole tournaments.


Golfers Club Logo 360x269 120x90

(photos courtesy of Samakipics)

Social Networking


Contact Information

Back To Top ↑

Links of Sponsors of KZN Golf